Skip To Main Content

News Hub

  • Palmyra-Macedon Central School District
  • Palmyra-Macedon High School

Pal-Mac's student performers took home several awards during the annual Elenbe Awards, which are the proclaimed “High School Tony Awards of Wayne County." Click on this article for a full rundown of awards!

Students stand on stage prior to the Elenbe Awards

MAY 31, 2023— Pal-Mac's student performers were in the spotlight once again Tuesday night as the High School's Theater Department took home multiple awards at the annual Elenbe Awards at Newark High School.


The program received recognition for two of its recent performances, including the Fall presentation of "The One Act Play that Goes Wrong," and the musical performance of "Mary Poppins." In total, the program received a total of 10 awards, split between six winning and four runner-up honors.


This includes major awards for Best Support Crew, Best Dance Ensemble, Best Drama, and  Best Musical. 


Several students accepted solo awards, while the entire cast and crew took the stage for the final two awards of the night.


"I would like to thank everyone in the cast and crew, all the directors, everyone who’s got me to where I am, and supporting me," said Ava Ribstein, who won the award for  Best Lead Actress in a Musical "It was like the most amazing experience of my life."


The awards, hosted by 13 WHAM anchor Don Alhart, are described as the “High School Tony Awards of Wayne County”, It recognizes excellence in drama and musical productions, both individuals and overall productions, in Wayne County high schools. It was created ahead of the Rochester Broadway Theater League's "Stars of Tomorrow" Awards, which recognizes productions across the region.


Pal-Mac accepted 10 awards from the RBTL earlier this month.


Prior to the awards ceremony, Ribstein and her fellow cast members got one more opportunity to put on their costumes and perform a short arrangement of songs from Mary Poppins. Director Kim Day showered the cast, crew and fellow directors with praise for the work they put in over the course of several months.


“I’m not really sure how to start with this group, I really adore each, and every one of them,"  Day said. "Coming to the show was an absolute dream, a dream come true for us. Every year I feel like we have an amazing show, like we all do. But this means a lot.”


A full rundown of awards is listed below.



  • Best Support Crew- Mary Poppins (Accepted by Technical Theater Director Doug Blackall)
  • Best Dance Ensemble- Mary Poppins (Accepted by Choreographer Bri Kelly)
  • Best Lead Actress in a Musical-Ava Ribstein
  • Best Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical- Ryan Fink
  • Best Drama- One Act Play That Goes Wrong
  • Best Musical- Mary Poppins



  • Phoebe Cole- Best Feature Role (Accepted by Katie Shoots)
  • Ryan Fink- Best Supporting Actor in a Drama
  • Maddie Sullivan- Best Lead Role in a Drama
  • Logan Vogl- Best Lead Actor 




  • Art
  • Palmyra-Macedon High School

Recent Stories